How to Delete a Patient Record

How to Delete a Patient Record

If zHealth detects multiple patient records that share similar demographic information (such as patient name, patient type, gender, and date of birth), it considers those patients potential duplicates. When this condition exists, you can resolve this issue by reviewing the patient records and doing one of the following:


1. Delete Duplicate Patient Record

Watch Video: How to Delete a Patient


 

Read Step-by-Step Instructions

zHealth automatically deletes duplicate patient records once you perform the following steps:


1. Navigate to the Patient Chart. By default, you will be at the Summary section of the patient profile.

Click on the third tab - Contact Details.



4. By default, you will be at the Personal Information section of the patient.

Edit the duplicate patient's last name. Add the word 'Delete' to the last name with space.

For example, if the patient's last name is Smith, it should be changed to 'Smith Delete'.

Once done, scroll down to the bottom and click 'Save'.


Our system scrubs every night to find patient records with Delete as last name. When our system finds such records, it automatically deletes them. Once a duplicate patient record is deleted, the record will no longer be accessible from the Search box on the top navigation bar.

2.   Merge Patients

If two patient records have been created for the same patient and each of the record has some data/visits that you'd like to keep, then you can combine (or “merge”) those records into a single patient record. When you merge patient records, all patient data is combined into a single record (Master Record).

Click here to learn how to merge patients


Note: All the notes and appointment-related data will be transferred to the Master Record when you merge patient charts. You will not be able to reverse a merge once it is completed.